top of page
  • Writer's pictureAppsec360 Team

Mastering Application Security Assessments with Proven Delivery Frameworks

Updated: Jan 26

Appsec Assessments - Puzzle

Application Security Assessments are crucial for identifying and mitigating security risks in software applications. The delivery frameworks for these assessments are designed to systematically identify vulnerabilities, report them, and recommend remediation strategies.

Here are some examples of frameworks and methodologies used for Application Security Assessments:

  1. OWASP Testing Framework: The Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP) provides a comprehensive methodology for testing web applications. This framework is divided into four phases: Planning, Discovery, Exploitation, and Reporting. It includes guidelines for both automated and manual testing of web applications to identify security issues.

  2. NIST SP 800-115: This framework from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) provides technical guidelines for information security testing and assessment. It outlines approaches for planning, conducting, and analyzing assessments, including security scanning, vulnerability scanning, penetration testing, and security reviews.

  3. ISO/IEC 27001: As part of the broader ISO/IEC 27000 family of standards, ISO/IEC 27001 specifies the requirements for establishing, implementing, maintaining, and continually improving an information security management system within the context of the organization. It also includes assessment and treatment of information security risks tailored to the needs of the organization.

  4. PTES (Penetration Testing Execution Standard): PTES provides a baseline standard for penetration testing which covers everything from pre-engagement interactions to post-engagement activities. It's designed to provide a common language and scope for performing penetration testing (i.e., security assessments).

  5. OSSTMM (Open Source Security Testing Methodology Manual): The OSSTMM is about operational security. It includes a comprehensive methodology for accurately assessing the security of systems by testing and measuring operational security, including methods for conducting penetration tests and security reviews.

  6. CREST: CREST provides an internationally recognized accreditation for organizations and individuals providing penetration testing, cyber incident response, threat intelligence, and Security Operations Center (SOC) services. CREST ensures a framework of professional standards, methodologies, and core competencies.

  7. ISSAF (Information Systems Security Assessment Framework): This framework is designed for security professionals who perform assessments and penetration testing. It provides a structured approach to the security assessment of information systems.

  8. Microsoft's Security Development Lifecycle (SDL): This is more of a development framework that includes security and privacy throughout the entire software development lifecycle. It can be adapted to work with different types of software development and has security assessment as one of its core components.

  9. ASVS (Application Security Verification Standard): Another project by OWASP, the ASVS standard provides a basis for testing web application technical security controls and also provides developers with a list of requirements for secure development.

These frameworks offer structured approaches for security professionals to assess applications for vulnerabilities, ensure compliance with security standards, and help organizations protect against security breaches and other cyber threats. Each framework may have a different focus, so it's important for organizations to choose one that fits their specific security needs and regulatory requirements.


bottom of page